Vivin vs Hostaway: a Hostaway alternative for mid-term rentals
Hostaway says it "provides all the tools you need to manage a short-term rental enterprise", with direct API connections to Airbnb, Booking.com, Vrbo, Expedia and Google Vacation Rentals. A 40-room coliving or student residence runs on a different clock: 40 rents every month, 480 payments a year to match to the right tenant, plus contracts, guarantors and shared bills - a different job from nightly turnovers.
Vivin is a Hostaway alternative for mid-term rentals, coliving and student housing: a payment plan and a virtual IBAN per booking with automatic reconciliation, contracts signed by tenants and guarantors, feeds to HousingAnywhere, Uniplaces, Spotahome and Idealista, and an official API connection to Airbnb and Booking.com for the short stays in between.
Vivin vs Hostaway at a glance
Vivin is our product, so every Hostaway cell comes from Hostaway's website and help center in October 2026. "Not stated publicly" means we found nothing there, not that the feature is missing.
| Feature | Vivin | Hostaway |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Coliving, student housing, mid-term rentals; short stays in the gaps | Short-term rental managers; its blog also targets mid-term |
| Room-level rentals | Unit, room or bed; contract and payment plan per room booking | Multi-unit listings, linked parent and child listings; per-room tenancies: not stated publicly |
| Contracts and e-signature | Word templates; tenant, second tenant and guarantor sign in the portal | Rental agreement per reservation, signed in the Guest Portal |
| Rent collection | Payment plan and virtual IBAN per booking, reconciled automatically; no SEPA Direct Debit | Auto-payment rules with instalments; monthly rent schedule, virtual IBAN: not stated publicly |
| Airbnb, Booking.com and OTAs | Official API with Airbnb and Booking.com; no Vrbo or Expedia | Direct API with Airbnb, Booking.com, Vrbo, Expedia, Google Vacation Rentals |
| Mid-term portals | HousingAnywhere, Uniplaces, Spotahome, Idealista by feed; iCal for others | Blueground, Per Diem Pads (US); HousingAnywhere, Uniplaces, Spotahome, Idealista: not stated publicly |
| Direct booking website | Monthly-stay booking engine, from the Growth plan | Booking Website and Booking Website Pro |
| Guest or tenant portal | Branded tenant portal, installable (no App Store app) | Guest Portal per reservation, with balances and payments |
| Utility bills split | AI bill reader; daily split across occupied rooms | Not stated publicly |
| Local invoicing | Invoice Express, Hostkit (Portugal); A-Cube (Italy, SdI); NetSuite | E-invoicing in Spain, Italy and France via Invopop; German E-Rechnung; Portugal: not stated publicly |
| AI and MCP | WhatsApp AI chatbot; MCP for ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, read or edit per area; no public REST API | AI Replies, AI CoHost; public REST API, marketplace; MCP "coming soon" |
| Pricing | Public, in EUR: €200/month up to 25 listings; €8/listing/month for 26-200 | Custom quote only, billed per unit; application fee on processed payments |
Can Hostaway collect monthly rent?
Hostaway's help center describes auto-payment rules that charge a percentage, a flat amount or the remaining balance, at booking or a set number of days before check-in, and can "split charges into multiple installments". A recurring monthly rent schedule is not stated publicly. For Airbnb stays over 30 days, Airbnb collects monthly itself; SEPA through Stripe is one-time, so later automated rules cannot charge it again.
In Vivin, rent is a payment plan on each booking - monthly or in up to four instalments - with the booking's own virtual IBAN. Every transfer is matched to its booking and applied to open charges automatically; tenants can also pay by card, MB WAY, Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the Finance Overview tracks what is late. The limits: no SEPA Direct Debit, and euros only.
How does Hostaway handle rooms in a shared flat?
Hostaway documents multi-unit listings for identical rooms, "such as an apartment block with multiple double rooms", and cross-listings in which a parent's reservation blocks all its child listings. Per-room tenancies are not stated publicly; the rental agreement is attached to each reservation and signed in the Guest Portal.
Vivin treats each room booking as a tenancy: its own contract, signed by the tenant and, if needed, a second tenant and a guarantor, plus its own deposit, payment plan and IBAN. The flat's utility bills are read by AI, split per night across occupied rooms and capped per booking.
Does Hostaway connect to HousingAnywhere, Uniplaces, Spotahome or Idealista?
Hostaway's help center documents two mid-term channels: the Blueground Partner Network and Per Diem Pads in the US. HousingAnywhere, Uniplaces, Spotahome and Idealista are not stated publicly. Beyond its direct API, other channels sync by iCal.
Vivin feeds HousingAnywhere, Uniplaces and Spotahome, with bookings coming back by webhook or booking email, and sends Idealista an hourly file feed. These are feeds, not the two-way API Vivin keeps for Airbnb and Booking.com. Portal fees are in our rental platform fees guide.
Which is stronger on invoicing and AI?
On e-invoicing, Hostaway is broader: its help center states that "E-invoicing is available in Spain, France, and Italy" through Invopop, and adds German E-Rechnung for B2B; Portugal is not stated publicly. Vivin covers Portugal (Invoice Express, Hostkit), Italy (A-Cube, through SdI) and NetSuite, with VAT set per owner, but has no Verifactu or French e-invoicing connector.
On AI, Hostaway offers AI Replies and the AI CoHost, which answers questions about your business in plain language; connecting your own AI agent by API or MCP is "coming soon". Vivin's WhatsApp chatbot answers tenants and opens tickets (a paid add-on), and its MCP connection already gives ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini read or edit access.
When is Hostaway the better choice?
- Short stays on the big OTAs - Hostaway's direct API covers five of them; Vivin's covers Airbnb and Booking.com, with no dynamic pricing engine.
- Invoicing in Spain, France or Germany - Hostaway documents all three; Vivin has no e-invoicing connector for them.
- A public API and a marketplace - Hostaway has a public REST API and an integrations marketplace; Vivin offers MCP only.
- A store app for field staff - Hostaway has a mobile app; Vivin's team app installs from the browser.
For a wider view, see the best mid-term rental software in 2026.
When is Vivin the better choice?
- Monthly rent is your core, with a contract, guarantor, payment plan and virtual IBAN per room.
- You list on HousingAnywhere, Uniplaces, Spotahome or Idealista.
- You split utility bills or invoice in Portugal or Italy.
- You want public prices before you talk to sales.
Running both: can Vivin fill the gaps with short stays?
Yes. Switch on Short term for a room or studio, set Price per night and Min stay (nights), and Vivin's Airbnb and Booking.com channel manager publishes them through an official API connection. Reservations return with their amounts, and monthly bookings keep their nights closed. As an illustrative estimate, a studio with a 24-night gap between tenants that sells 15 nights at €80 brings in €1,200.
How do you move from Hostaway to Vivin?
- Book a demo with a few of your own properties.
- Create properties and listings (whole unit, room or bed); Starter and Growth include free onboarding and a trial.
- Upload your Word contract template, set payment plans and connect your invoicing tool.
- Connect Airbnb and Booking.com in Settings > Integrations and click Import bookings.
- Add your portal feeds and move tenants over at the start of a rent month.
Frequently asked questions
Is Vivin a good alternative to Hostaway for mid-term rentals?
Yes, when monthly rent from rooms or flats is most of your revenue: each booking gets a payment plan and a virtual IBAN with automatic reconciliation, contracts are signed by tenants and guarantors, and Vivin feeds the main European mid-term portals. If most of your nights are short stays on large OTAs, Hostaway is likely the better fit.
Can Hostaway charge monthly rent automatically?
According to Hostaway's help center in October 2026, auto-payment rules charge a percentage, a flat amount or the remaining balance at booking or before check-in, with instalments; a recurring monthly rent schedule is not stated publicly, and SEPA through Stripe is one-time.
How much does Hostaway cost compared with Vivin?
Hostaway publishes no prices: its pricing page offers a custom quote, each unit of a multi-unit listing is billed, and an application fee applies to payments through connected processors. Vivin's prices are public: €200 a month flat up to 25 listings, then €8 per listing a month from 26 to 200, with every room you let counted as a listing.
Does Hostaway have an MCP server for ChatGPT or Claude?
Not as of October 2026: Hostaway's AI CoHost FAQ says connecting your own AI agent through API or MCP is "coming soon"; a third-party marketplace app, Rankbreeze, offers its own MCP. Vivin's MCP connection works today with ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini, with Off, Read-only or Edit access per area.
Five OTAs or five housemates? Hostaway is built around the first, Vivin around the second.
Hostaway and its product names are trademarks of their owner. Information about Hostaway comes from its public website and help center in October 2026; features and prices change, so check with the vendor before deciding.



